Important Updates to Texas State Laws
The Driver Responsibility law establishes a system to assess surcharges based on certain traffic offenses. Points are assessed to moving traffic violation convictions. Once the conviction has been added to the driver record, points will be assigned and will remain on the driver record for a period of three years. Points are assigned as follows:
2 points for a Texas or out-of-state moving violation conviction.
3 points for a Texas or out-of-state moving violation conviction that resulted in a crash.
A surcharge will be assessed when the driver accumulates a total of 6 points or more on their record. The driver is required to pay a $100 surcharge for the first six points and $25 for each additional point. The driver record will be reviewed annually and if it continues to reflect 6 or more points, the surcharge will be assessed.
Wireless Communication Devices:
House Bill 347 expands the current limitations on wireless communication device use in an active school crossing zone to include the property of a public elementary, middle, or junior high school for which a local authority has designated a school crossing zone. The use will only be restricted during the time a reduced speed limit is in effect for the school crossing zone and will not apply to vehicles that are stopped, or drivers using a hands-free device or making an emergency call.